Sunday, 28 November 2010

CCSMAB NEWS RELEASE - 28 November 2010


NEWS RELEASE 28 November 2010




The County Triples qualification competition fell victim to the wintery conditions over the weekend with play only possible on Sunday after overnight snowfall prevented travel on Saturday Morning for many players and officials.


Sunday’s play featured 16 teams who braved the cold conditions at the Dragon Leisure Centre to compete for four of the eight places available at the County Finals to be played in January.


Margaret Jenkin (Newlyn Trinity), John Thomas (Penzance) and Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) claimed Group One after defeating the Liskeard team of Lynne Davey, Martin Boraston and Gary Davey 9-7 in the final game in the group to finish unbeaten with 6 points +21 shots.  Kath Goodman (Treviscoe) combined with St Newlyn East’s Carol & Graham Ford to claim Group Two unbeaten with 6 +22.  Group Three went down to a final game decider with Illogan’s Bob Williams, Joe Coups & David Studden defeating Holman’s Nicholas Truscott, Karen Watson & Peter Hore 12-5 to finish on 6 +23.  The final game of Group Four went the way of Luxulyan’s David Giles, Betty Temple-Smith & Phil Hicks who defeated nearest challengers St Newlyn East’s Sheila Collins, Margaret Walke & Pam Williams 11-9 to finish on 6 +15.


A restaging date for Saturday’s cancelled competition has yet to be confirmed at the time of writing.




On Saturday the County Two Wood Singles qualification competition will be contested at the Dragon Centre with two sessions of play spanning morning and afternoon with 44 bowlers entered.


On Sunday the County Teams are in action with Dorset the visitors to the Dragon Leisure Centre.  In a bid to earn a first win of the season for the Premier Team, Team Manager Chris Cawrse has shuffled the team with many bowlers featuring in different disciples than they have been used to so far this season.  The A Team will be looking for a strong result in their bid to finish top of the South West Area of the A Team Competition.


Premier Team: Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity), Peter Hore (Holmans), Gillian Cawrse (Lostwithiel), Percy Tripp (Helston), Karen Watson (Holmans), David Studden (Illogan), Elise Daniell (Holmans), Nicholas Truscott (Holmans), Kevin Williams (Porthleven), Joe Coups (Illogan), Ken Horrell (Withiel), Brian Wakeley (Ladock), Carolyn Matthews (ST Newlyn East), Carol Ford (St Newlyn East), Pam Williams (St Newlyn East), Graham Ford (St Newlyn East), Roy Christophers (Helston), Graham Luke (Ladock), Ronald Thomas (Newlyn Trinity) & Chris Roberts (Ladock).


A Team: Peter Spargo (Liskeard), Tony Baldwin (Liskeard), Sheila Hodge (Liskeard), Terry Bray (Lostwithiel), Miriam Barbery (Dobwalls), Brenda Sleep (Dobwalls), Joyce Ward (Withiel), Luke Jolly (Treviscoe), Max Burden (Dobwalls), Bob Williams (Illogan), Linda Martin (Illogan), Gerald Fisher (Illogan), Kath Goodman (Treviscoe), Peter Sully (Perranporth), Derek Swaby (Wadebridge), David Griffin (Lostwithiel), Meg Horrell (Withiel), Margaret Goodwin (Saltash), Graham Reeves (Saltash) & Derek Newton (Liskeard)




League tables can be found on the following links, the * mark shown in the tables does not need to reproduced.


West Premier Division

West Division One

West Division Two


Central Premier Division

Central Division One


North Division One

North Division Two


East Area will be sent separately.


No comments: