Tuesday, 30 September 2008

CCSMBA News Release - 1 October 2008

NEWS RELEASE 28th September 2008


Cornwall’s Inter County Championship campaign gets under way on Saturday with both the Premier and A teams in action against Devon at Bodmin’s Dragon Leisure Centre.

Each team consists of 20 players, 2 singles, 2 pairs, 2 triples and 2 fours who each play two games during the match. Places in the squad have been awarded following recent trials and squad practice days held at the Dragon Centre. Each game is worth 2 points and when combined with the bonus points makes a total of 40 available for each match. All points scored over the course of the six group games count towards the final position in the league table.

The match gets underway at around 11am and this will be the first time that Cornwall have played a match under the new competition format which see the Singles and Pairs playing in sessions 1 & 3 and Triples and Fours in sessions 2 & 4. In another revision to the rules for this season the 4 bonus points for most shots scored in the match are replaced by 2 points for the most shots in each of the four disciplines.

Premier Team

N Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity), D Studden (Troon), G Cawrse (Luxulyan), P Tripp (Helston), G Lane (Penlee), B Sharp (Dobwalls), G Luke (Luxulyan), L Stephens (Treviscoe), B Wakley (Luxulyan), M Jenkins (Newlyn Trinity), F Walther (Mabe), C Roberts (Ladock), J Coup (Troon), P Sully (Holmans), N Truscott (Holmans), P Hore (Holmans), R Christophers (Helston), B Sleep (Dobwalls), C Ford (St Newlyn East), G Ford (St Newlyn East)

A Team
P Spargo (Liskeard), G Reeves (Saltash), C Matthews (St Newlyn East), R Flower (Tintagel), E Daniell (Holmans), J Ward (Withiel), S Hodge (Liskeard), M Barbery (Dobwalls), D Newton (Liskeard), P Williams (St Newlyn East), M Turner (Liskeard), J Roper (Dobwalls), C Cawrse (Luxulyan), M Horrell (Withiel), K Horrell (Withiel), P Hicks (Luxulyan), T Jago (Treviscoe), T Rigler (Duloe), U Prideaux (Troon), N Ward (Withiel)

Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer

Sunday, 7 September 2008

CCSMBA News Release - 7 September 2008

NEWS RELEASE 7th September 2008


The Dobwalls team of Miriam Barbery, Bill Sharp, Jean Roper and Brenda Sleep are the 2008 CCSMBA Summer League Champions after defeating the Holmans (Camborne) based Hotshots team of Elise Daniell, Peter Sully (1st leg)/Dave Baxter (2nd leg), Nicholas Truscott and Peter Hore 50-23 over the two legs of the final played last week.

In the first leg, played at Holmans on Tuesday, the Hotshots started well claiming the first two ends. Scores of one and two in the next two ends saw Dobwalls take the lead before the home team levelled the score at 3-3 after five ends. A scores of three and one on the next two ends saw Dobwalls move into the lead before the home team again levelled the score at 7-7 after nine ends. A five for Dobwalls on the 10th end put them into a lead they would not relinquish, claiming an advantage on seven of the remaining ends. The final score being Hotshots 14 Dobwalls 20.

The second leg, played on Thursday at Dobwalls, saw the Hotshots start well opening up a 3-1 lead over the first four ends. A three on the fifth end followed up by scores on the next seven ends left Dobwalls 16-3 up after twelve ends. A change in playing order saw Hotshots momentarily disrupt the flow of Dobwalls scoring on the 13th ends claiming a four. Dobwalls scored on six of the remaining eight ends end the match with the score of Dobwalls 30 Hotshots 9.

Final League tables

Hotshots 12 8 0 3 1 237 183 30
Nomads 12 7 1 4 0 268 207 25
Withiel Oaks 12 9 0 3 0 241 207 25
Ladock 12 7 0 5 0 244 220 20
Withiel Elms 12 4 0 8 0 209 249 14
Praa Sands 12 3 1 8 0 196 250 9
Lanjeth 12 2 0 9 1 167 246 2

Pl W D L SF SA Pts
Dobwalls 12 10 0 2 332 163 30
Tintagel Heralds 12 8 0 4 252 184 26
Tintagel Knights 12 7 0 5 279 182 23
Boscastle 12 5 0 7 197 240 14
Camelford 12 5 0 7 207 255 13
St Tudy 12 4 0 8 170 287 12
Blisland 12 3 0 9 175 301 8

The Winter Season gets under way this Sunday (14th September) with the County Team Trials at Bodmin’s Dragon Leisure Centre.


Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association