Sunday, 16 March 2014


NEWS RELEASE 16 March 2014


Over the weekend the finals of the main county championships were contested at Carnmoggas Indoor Bowling Club.

On Saturday morning the Singles was the first title to be decided.  In the Quarter Finals Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) defeated Keith Matthews (Blisland) 14-6.  John Worton (Ladock) was an 11-5 winner against Graham Ford (St Newlyn East).  David Studden (Illogan) defeated Peter Hore (Holmans) 11-6.  Dennis Shorthouse progressed with a bye. 

In the Semi Finals Nigel Nicholls defeated John Worton 9-4 and Dennis Shorthouse was a 13-3 winner against David Studden.  In the Final Nigel defeated Dennis 14-5.

Saturday afternoon saw the Fours decided.  In the Quarter Finals an all Dobwalls match saw Robert Rawlings, Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden defeat Graham Sleep, David Griffin, Martin Boraston & Derek Newton 17-1.  Robert James, Margaret Jenkin, Ray Jeffery & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) were 11-6 winners against Elise Daniell, Derek Elliott, Nicholas Truscott & Peter Hore (Holmans).  Kath Goodman, Tony Jago, Luke Jolly & Karen Watson (Treviscoe) were comfortable 21-3 winners against Joan Boddy, Meg Horrell & Ken Horrell (Withiel).  Clarence Stapleton, Jim Watson, Carol Ford & Graham Ford (St Newlyn East) edged a tight game against Dennis Shorthouse, Heidi Kerr, Richard Kerr & Neil Gribble (Landrake).

In the Semi Finals Nigel Nicholls defeated Max Burden 9-7 and Karen Watson needed an extra end to defeat Graham Ford 12-8.  In the final a score of four on the six end proved decisive for Karen Watson in an otherwise tight game going on to win 8-6 against Nigel Nicholls.

On Sunday morning attention turned to the Pairs.  In the Quarter Finals Brenda Sleep & Max Burden (Dobwalls) defeated Meg & Ken Horrell (Withiel) 9-8.  Dennis Shorthouse & Gary Davey (Landrake) were 14-10 winners against David Foulds & Don Falck (Marazion).  Elise Daniell & Peter Hore (Holmans) were comfortable 16-4 winners against Roy Sumner & David Balow (Marazion).  Kath Goodman & Karen Watson (Treviscoe) defeated Martin Boraston & Derek Newton (Dobwalls) 13-6.  

Both Semi Finals required an extra end with Brenda Sleep & Max Burden defeating Dennis Shorthouse & Gary Davey 11-10 and Kath Goodman & Karen Watson winning 9-7 against Elise Daniell and Peter Hore.  The final also went to an extra end with Brenda Sleep & Max Burden taking the title with a 10-9 win against Kath Goodman & Karen Watson.

The final title to be decided was the Triples on Sunday afternoon.  In the Quarter Finals Joe Coups, Linda Martin & Gerald Fisher (Illogan) defeated Paul Spencer, Ruth Newbury & Derek Swaby (Wadebridge) 14-3.  Janet Carter, Brian Crank & David Topliffe (St Minver) won 9-8 against Dennis Shorthouse, Gillian Cawrse & Neil Gribble (Landrake).  Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden (Dobwalls) were comfortable 12-4 winners against Diane Williams, Martin Williams & Mark Payne (Penlee).  Elise Daniell, Nicholas Truscott & Peter Hore (Holmans) defeated Sam Groves, Gordon & Jenny Smith (Treviscoe) 11-4.

In the Semi Finals, a score of five on the penultimate end saw Gerald Fisher take the lead for the first time in the game to win 13-8 against David Topliffe.  Peter Hore established an early lead against Max Burden going on to win 9-7.  The Final between Peter Hore and Gerald Fisher only a couple of shots separate the teams and them level going into the last end in which Fisher made two shots with his final bowl to win 9-7.

On Saturday Elise Daniell, Gillian Cawrse, Nigel Nicholls and Peter Hore travel to Northampton for the National Mixed Fours competition.  On Sunday the Bebbington Cup competition will be contested by the four area league winners, Newlyn Trinity Jowsters, Lostwithiel, Tintagel and Landrake at Carnmoggas,


Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association
Tel: 07800 916059
Blackberry Messenger: 7C59B3EF

No comments: