Saturday, 28 September 2013

Peter Spargo Memorial Cup Final

The Peter Spargo Memorial Cup final was contested by teams from Dobwalls and Landrake at Morley Tamblyn in Liskeard on Wednesday evening (25 September).

The competition is played in a similar way to the County Team of Three with games of Singles, Pairs and Triples making up the final game result.

In the final Martin Boraston for Dobwalls defeated Landrake's Neil Gribble 9-5.  David Griffin and Derek Newton were 10-7 winners for Dobwalls against Landrake's Diane & Dennis Shorthouse.  The Triples game also went the way of Dobwalls 9-6.

The cup was presented by Liskeard SMBC Chairman Paul Cummins who paid tribute to Peter Spargo who was a stalwart of not only the Liskeard club but also the Cornwall County squad for many years.

Winning team from Dobwalls David Griffin, Derek Newton and Martin Boraston
Runners Up from Landrake Diane Shorthouse, Dennis Shorthouse and Neil Gribble

No comments: