Sunday, 3 April 2011


NEWS RELEASE 3 April 2011


On Saturday 10 Club Champions converged on the Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin for the Champion of Champions competition.

A Premliminary round was played to reduce the nmbers down to eight for a straight knockout.  Malcolm Harvey (Helston) defeated James Simmons (Saltash) 16-5.  David Giles (Luxulyan) was an 8-6 winner against Peter Hore (Holmans)

In the Quarter Finals David Giles defeated Malcolm Harvey 14-2.  Derek Elliott (Hayle) took a narrow 9-8 win against Allan Rathbone (St Minver).  Gerald Fisher (Illogan) was a comfortable 15-2 winner against John Menhenick (Wadebridge).  The final Semi Final place went to Max Burden (Dobwalls) who defeated Tony Liddicoat (Withiel) 9-6.

The first semi final saw David Giles take an early lead against Derek Elliott but Elliott founght back to win 12-5.  The second semi saw Gerald Fisher and Max Burden tied 3-3 after 5 ends before successive scores of 3 for Gerald Fisher saw him into a lead he would not relinquich winning the game 11-6. 

In the final Gerald Fisher took an early 4-0 lead before Derek Elliott pulled the score back to 5-5 after 5 ends.  Sucessive scores for Gereald Fisher saw hime claim the title with and end to spare with a score of 12-5.


Also played on Saturday was the County Mixed Fours Finals.

In the Quarter Finals Sheila Hodge, Edna Cope, Derek Newton & Tony Baldwin (Liskeard) defeated Pam Hamley, Marilyn Stewart, Jimmy Rule & Terry Bray (Lostwithiel) 14-3.  Kath Goodman (Treviscoe), Joyce Ward (Withiel), Mike Widger & Kevin Williams (Porthleven) were 10-7 winners against Joan & Eric Boddy,  Meg & Ken Horrell (Withiel).  Miriam Barbery, Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden (Dobwalls) progressed with a 7-6 win against Margaret & John Menhenick, Barbara & Derek Swaby (Wadebridge).  The last game of the round saw Rosemary Pengelly, Ken Weeks, Margaret Jenkin & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) defeat John & Marion Keers, Vera & Brian Blackwell (St Agnes) 8-7.

In the Semi Finals Sheila Hodge, Edna Cope, Derek Newton & Tony Baldwin opened up a 4-0 lead against Kath Goodman, Joyce Ward, Mike Widger & Kevin Williams who hit back with five sucessive scores of one to move into the lead.  The Liskeard team hit back with sucessive singles to claim the game 6-5.  The second semi saw Miriam Barbery, Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden recover from dropping three on the first end to defeat Rosemary Pengelly, Ken Weeks, Margaret Jenkin & Nigel Nicholls 10-7.  In the final Sheila Hodge, Edna Cope, Derek Newton & Tony Baldwin picked up a score of four on the first end and were never headed as they defeated Miriam Barbery, Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden 12-8


Helston claimed the Bebbington Cup on Sunday on shot difference from Dobwalls.  In the first session, which saw Helston against Dobwalls and Withiel against Wadebridge, each team claimed 2 points winning a game apeice.  The second session which saw Helston against Wadebridge and Dobwalls against Withiel went the same way to leave all teams on 4 points going into the final session.  The final session saw Helston claim a double over Withiel and Dobwalls similarly against Wadebridge.  Helston's superior shots difference saw them take the Bebbington Cup title.

Helston Grylls
1. Malcolm Harvey, Keith Sobey, Peter Gorman & Fred Davis
2. Roy Christophers, David Richards, Ken Banfield & Percy Tripp

1. Robert Rawlings, Graham Sleep, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden
2. Lynette Golledge, Barbara James, Bill Sharp & Miriam Barbery

Withiel Oaks
1. Henry Kendall, Tony Liddicoat, Joyce Ward & Norman Ward
2. Meg Horrell, Eric Boddy, Joan Boddy & Ken Horrell

1. Margaret Menhinick, Marion Davis, Jonh Menhinick & Derek Swaby
2. Susan Wilce, Esme Stokes, Mary Moyinhan & David Stokes

Session 1
F. Davis (Helston) 3-14 M. Burden (Dobwalls)
P. Tripp (Helston) 17-3 M. Barbery (Dobwalls)
N. Ward (Withiel) 6-11 D. Swaby (Wadebridge)
K. Horrell (Withiel) 11-3 D. Stokes (Wadebridge)

Session 2
P. Tripp (Helston) 10-9 D. Stokes (Wadebridge)
F. Davis (Helston) 5-9 D. Swaby (Wadebridge)
K. Horrell (Withiel) 10-4 M. Barbery (Dobwalls)
N. Ward (Withiel) 6-7 M. Burden (Dobwalls)

Session 3
F. Davis (Helston) 11-7 N. Ward (Withiel)
P. Tripp (Helston) 15-8 K. Horrell (Withiel)
D. Swaby (Wadebridge) 4-15 M. Burden (Dobwalls)
D. Stokes (Wadebridge) 7-9 M. Barbery (Dobwalls)

Final Positions
Helston Grylls 8 points +11 shots
Dobwalls 8 +5
Withiel 4 -3
Wadebridge 4 -13


Karen Watson (Holmans) claimed a second final win over Peter Hore (Holmans) in as many weekends to win the County Under 25's title with an 11-5 win.

In the group stages Karen defeated Elise Daniell 17-1 amd Alice Grimshaw 10-5.  Peter's route to the final saw him defeat Tom Westlake 16-8 and Rob Price-Brind 15-4.

Group 1
Tom Westlake 15-8 Rob Price-Brind, Tom Westlake 8-16 Peter Hore, Rob Price-Brind 4-15 Peter Hore

Group 2
Elise Daniell 1-17 Karen Watson 17, Elise Daniell 13-6 Alice Grimshaw, Karen Watson 10-5 Alice Grimshaw

P Hore 5 - K Watson 11


Ncholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer

No comments: