Sunday, 28 March 2010



NEWS RELEASE 28 March 2010


Over the past weekend a further four County Titles for the 2009-10 season were decided at the Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin.


First up on Saturday was the County Mixed Fours.  The Quarter Finals saw Jim Rule, Pam Hamley, Betty Temple-Smith and Arthur Hambley (Lostwithiel) defeat Linda Higgins (Perranporth), Elise Daniell, Nicholas Truscott & Peter Hore (Holmans) 10-7 to set up a Semi Final against Marion Keers (St Agnes), Joyce Ward (Withiel), John Keers (St Agnes) & Norman Ward (Withiel) who were 11-5 winners against Margaret Goodwin, Jean Sampson, Graham Reeves and Darren Woolner (Saltash).  Meg Horrell, Joan Boddy, Eric Boddy & Ken Horrell (Withiel) were 13-6 winners against Camilla Cawrse (Lostwithiel), Gillian Cawrse (Lostwithiel), Phil Hicks (Luxulyan) & Chris Cawrse (Luxulyan) setting up a last four game against Christine Coxall, Margaret Jenkins, Ronnie Thomas & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) who eased past Margaret Menhenick, Mary Moynihan, Peter Morrish & John Menhenick 16-2.


The semi finals went the way of both Withiel teams with Ward’s team defeating Lostwithiel 12-9 and Horrell’s team defeating Newlyn Trinity 14-4.  The 15 end final was a game of two halves with the score tied at 5-5 between the two Withiel teams.  Horrell’s team seized control of the game over the next five ends with scores of 2, 4, 3, 3 and 2 to establish a 14 shot lead with two ends to play.  Ward recorded a couple of consolation shots to leave the final score Horrell 19 Ward 8.


The Under 25’s, run for the first time in five years saw eight entries from two clubs, Treviscoe and Holmans.  The eight bowlers were split into two groups of four with the group winners meeting in the final.  Group One went the way of Peter Hore (Holmans) winning all three games to finish with 6 points +28 shots, second in the group went to Luke Jolly with 4 -8.  Group Two went the way of Elise Daniell (Holmans) again winning all three games to finish with 6 points +17 shots, second went to Ashley Davies with 5 +6.  The final was won by Peter Hore defeating Elise Daniell by 20 shots to 4.


The afternoon saw the County Champion of Champions contested for the first time in five years with 16 entries.  Players were split into four groups of four with two qualifiers going through to a knockout competition.  Group One qualifiers were Stewart Hambley (Camelford) and Peter Hore (Holmans).  Group Two saw Ted Penland (Luxulyan) and Fran Phillips (Helston) progress.  Peter Spargo (Liskeard) and Carol Ford progressed from Group Three with the line up completed by Roger Edwards (Withiel) and Keith Williams (Penlee) from Group Four.


The Quarter Finals saw Peter Spargo defeat 14-6 setting up a semi final against Stewart Hambley who was a 12-4 winner against Fran Phillips.  Roger Edwards defeated Keith Williams 11-6 and Peter Hore claimed the final semi final spot with a 12-4 win over Carol Ford.  The semi finals saw Spargo defeat Hambly 9-6 and Edwards take a comfortable 12-2 win over Hore.  Edwards went on to claim the title defeating Spargo 15-1 in the final with three ends to spare.


On Sunday Central Area league winners Lostwithiel claimed the Bebbington Cup title at Bodmin.  Playing each of the Area League winners Lostwithiel scored a total of 8 points from their 6 games played.  Newlyn finished second on shots difference from Lanteglos with Liskeard in fourth Place.   Lostwithiel 8 pts +19, Newlyn Trinity Jowsters 6 +1, Lanteglos A 6 -12, Liskeard 4 -8.



Lostwithiel A - P Hamley, C Cawrse, C Cawrse, P Hamley

Lostwithiel B - D Griffin, J Rule, G Cawrse, T Bray


Liskeard A - D Woodyatt, M Ray, P Cummins, T Baldwin

Liskeard B - C Cummins, S Hodge, D Newton, P Spargo


Lanteglos 'A' A - H Teague, M Davey, R Shillaber, F Davey

Lanteglos 'A' B - V Risdon, M Shillaber, C Parsons, G Risdon


Newlyn Trinity A - K Weeks, M Jenkin, R Thomas, N Nicholls

Newlyn Trinity B - R Pengelley, A Stephens, M Praed, T Swann



Lostwithiel A 12  -  Liskeard A 7

Lostwithiel B 11  -  Liskeard B 5

Lanteglos A 3  -  Newlyn Trinity A 15

Lanteglos A 11  -  Newlyn Trinity B 8


Liskeard B 6  -  Newlyn Trinity B 8

Liskeard A 12  -  Newlyn Trinity A 6

Lostwithiel B 11  -  Lanteglos B 6

Lostwithiel A 7  -  Lanteglos A 8


Lostwithiel A 14  -  Newlyn Trinity A 4

Lostwithiel B 6  -  Newlyn Trinity B 12

Liskeard A 8  -  Lanteglos A 4

Liskeard B 7  -  Lanteglos B 12



Nicholas Truscott

Press and Promotions Officer


No comments: