Monday, 22 March 2010

CCSMBA News Release - 22 March 2010


NEWS RELEASE – 22 March 2010


Western Division Champion of Champions and Top Team Final


On Saturday (20 March) the Western Division Champion of Champions competition and Top Team final were contested at Goldsithney Village Hall.


The Champion of Champions, which brought together Club Singles Champions from across the Western Division , was keenly contested with Fred Spurr (Centenary), Peter Hore (Holmans), Fran Phillips (Helston) and Ronnie Thomas (Newlyn Trinity) reaching the Semi Finals.  In the Semi’s Peter Hore defeated Fred Spurr 7-3 to set up a final against Ronnie Thomas who was a 16-2 winner against Fran Phillips.  Peter Hore claimed the title with a 15-8 win over Ronnie Thomas in the final.


The Top Team Final saw Holmans face Troon Tryers in a match played to the usual league match format.  The first game saw the Holman’s rink of Elise Daniell, Dave Baxter, Ken Moir and John Peters win 7 of the 12 ends to defeat the Troon rink of Pat Clarke, Joe Coups, Bob Williams & Una Prideaux 11-7. 


The second game saw the Troon rink of Chris Penaluna, Ann Warren, Peter Warren and David Studden quickly overturn the deficit and move into 9-1 lead in the game and 4 shots overall after 7 ends.  With the game seemingly slipping away from the Holman’s rink of Tom Noy, Peter Sully, Peter Hore and Nicholas Truscott a change of playing order was made which brought immediate results with scores of 3 and 1 on the next two ends to level the overall match score with 3 ends to play.  As the tension mounted Troon took a single on the tenth end with Holman’s then taking two on the eleventh to move into a single shot lead with an end to play.  Troon could scored a single on the twelfth end to force an extra end.  Holmans won the toss and Peter Hore opted to lead in an attempt to run the jack into the ditch.  This tactic proved unsuccessful leading to Troon building a good head with the skips left to bowl.  Holman’s skip Nicholas Truscott was first up and a well weighted drawing bowl took the shot leaving the Troon skip David Studden needing to remove the shot bowl from the head.  His attempts proved unsuccessful leaving Holmans to claim the title by a single shot 19-18 overall.


County Team of Three Final


On Sunday (21 March) the County Team of Three final was completed with the second leg between Holmans and Lostwithiel played at Lostwithiel.


The Holman’s trio of Peter Hore, Elise Daniell & Nicholas Truscott held a 13 shot lead after the first leg at Holmans played on 14 March where Hore defeated Dave Griffin 12-3 in the singles, Daniell & Truscott won the pairs 8-7 against Jim Rule and Arthur Hambley and then combined to win the Triples 10-7.


Griffin gave the Lostwithiel trio hope in the second leg defeating Hore 12-5 in the singles to reduce the overall deficit to 6 shots.  In the pairs Daniell and Truscott quickly restored the 13 shot lead overall opening up a 7-0 lead after four ends of the pairs.  Rule and Hambley hit back winning the next four ends to trail by one in the game with two ends to play.  Two on the ninth end for the Holmans pairing all but secured the game with the Lostwithiel pairing claiming two on the last end to leave the final score Lostwithiel 8 Holmans 9, an overall lead for Holmans of 7 going into the Triples.


The Holmans trio re-applied the pressure early in the Triples racing to a 7-0 lead after four ends.  Lostwithiel restored hope with scores of 4 and 2 on the next two ends to leave them needing 8 with four ends to play.  The final four ends resulted in single scores each time with Holmans scoring on the seventh and ninth ends and Lostwithiel scoring on the eighth and tenth ends.  The final score of the triples 9-8 in Holmans favour to leave the overall score Lostwithiel 45 Holmans 53.      


On Saturday 27 March the County Mixed Fours finals will be played at the Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin followed by the County Champion of Champions and Under 25’s singles competitions.  On Sunday the four area league winners, Lanteglos, Liskeard, Lostwithiel and Newlyn Trinity will contest the Bebbington Cup at the same venue.




Nicholas Truscott

Press and Promotions Officer




No comments: