Sunday, 2 April 2017


Bebbington Cup & Champion of Champions
View this email in your browser
NEWS RELEASE 2 April 2017


On Sunday the four area league champions came together at Carnmoggas to compete for the Bebbington Cup title.

The first round of games saw Landrake take on Withiel with points shared and Holmans against Boscastle with Holmans taking three of the four points on offer.  

The second session saw Holmans against Landrake with Holmans taking all four points and Boscastle against Withiel with the points shared.  

In the final session Holmans completed the day unbeaten with two wins against Withiel to lift the title for a second consecutive year and Boscastle and Landrake shared the points available to finish second and third respectively.

The final positions can viewed here.

Withiel A (Michael Liddicoat, Brian Gregory, Henry Kendall & Tony Liddicoat) 11-6 Landrake A (Lynne Davey, Shannon Toomer, Claire Evans & Neil Gribble); Withiel B (Meg Horrell, Joe Dixon, Marilyn Stewart & Ken Horrell) 6-23 Landrake B (Dianne Shorthouse, Brian Watts, Adam Hall & Gary Davey);
Boscastle A (Norine Harper, Bob Banks, David Topliffe & Mike Lawrence) 4-14 Holmans A (Kathryn Watson, Chris Selbey, Nicholas Truscott & Peter Hore); Boscastle B (John Wakelin, John Tillinghast, J Sutcliffe, Shirley Wakelin) 8-8 Holmans B (Elise Daniell, Janet Williams, John Peters & David Studden);
Withiel A 4-17 Boscastle A; Withiel B 13-8 Boscastle B;
Landrake A 3-16 Holmans A; Landrake B 6-11 Holmans B;
Landrake A 7-15 Boscastle A; Landrake B 13-12 Boscastle B;
Withiel A 14-10 Holmans A; Withiel B 6-12 Holmans B.

Only three teams competed in the League plate for Division One winners with the North Area representatives Poughill unable to take there place.

The first session saw St Agnes Gulls A win 12-5 against Lanreath Reds A and Gulls B win 14 against Reds B.  The second session Penlee Larrigan defeat Lanreath Reds 11-2 and 18-5 to set up a deciding final session.  Larrigan A raced to an 8-1 lead against Gulls A but failed to score again with Gulls A picking up 4 on the last end to win 11-9.  Gulls B dropped three on the first end before responding with a six on the second end and were not headed again going on to win 15-7.  St Agnes Gulls took the title finishing with 8 points with Larrigan 2nd on 4 points and Lanreath Reds 3rd with 0 points.

On Sunday afternoon 13 club champions took part in the County Champion of Champions Competition also at Carnmoggas.

The first round saw Gerald Fisher (Illogan) defeat Shane Aldridge (Luxulyan) 9-8.  Martin Boraston (East Taphouse) won 11-6 against Keith Williams (Penlee).  Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) won 14-7 against Paul Spencer (Wadebridge).  Kevin Williams (Porthleven) defeated Peter Skinner (Saltash) 13-3 and Neil Gribble (Landrake) won 11-9 against Geoff Risdon (Lanteglos).
The Quarter Finals saw Boraston win 13-4 against Fisher.  Williams defeated Nicholls 11-5.  Gribble was a 10-8 winner against Tony Liddicoat (Withiel) and Elise Daniell (Holmans) won 13-4 against Steve McGuire (Callington).  The Semi Finals saw two contrasting results, Williams comfortably defeated Boraston 16-1 whilst Gribble edged past Daniell 6-5.  Gribble won the final against Williams by a single shot 9-8. 

Photos of winners available on request.


Next weekend Cornwall will be well represented at the English Short Mat Bowling Association National Championships.  The bowlers who have qualified are

Singles (Thursday) Nigel Nicholls and Karen Watson.

Pairs (Friday) Peter Hore & Karen Watson and Tom Westlake & Luke Jolly.

Fours (Saturday) Elise Daniell, David Studden, Peter Hore & Karen Watson and Richard Brown, Sandra Worton, John Worton & Chris Roberts.

Triples (Sunday) Ray Jeffery, Nigel Nicholls & Gill Cawrse and David Studden, Peter Hore & Karen Watson.

Nicholas Truscott

Press and Promotions Officer
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association

Tel - 07800 916059
E-mail -
Copyright © 2017 Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association, All rights reserved.
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association maintains a list of local media outlets for a number of years and regularly send out news releases.

Our mailing address is:
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association
9 Queens Road
St Austell, Cornwall PL25 4RQ
United Kingdom

Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp

No comments: