Sunday, 5 January 2014

CCSMBA NEWS RELEASE - 5 January 2014

NEWS RELEASE - 5 January 2014


Over the weekend the County Four Wood Pairs qualification competition was played at Carnmoggas with 32 teams playing on Saturday and 29 on Sunday.

On Saturday the 32 teams played a round robin competition with 8 groups of 4 providing group winners to play a knockout round.

The group winners were
Group One - Dennis Shorthouse and Richard Kerr (Landrake) 6 points +28 shots
Group Two - Richard Brown and Arthur Tubb (Ladock) 5 +4.  
Group Three - Lesley Clayton and Tony Knight (Cubert) 6 +16
Group Four - Jim Rule and Terry Bray (Lostwithiel) 4 +7
Group Five - Ann & Ian Perry (Porthleven) 6 +26
Group Six - Lynne & Gary Davey (Liskeard) 4 +23
Group Seven - Linda Martin & Gerald Fisher (Illogan) 6 +16
Group Eight - Elise Daniell & Peter Hore (Holmans) 6 +54

In the knockout round Linda Martin and Gerald Fisher defeated Richard Brown and Arthur Tubb 10-5.  Jimmy Rule and Terry Bray were 11-8 winners against Lesley Clayton and Tony Knight.  Elise Daniell and Peter Hore won 12-4 against Lynne and Gary Davey.  Dennis Shorthouse and Richard Kerr claimed the final spot with a 7-5 win against Anne and Ian Perry.

On Sunday the 29 teams were organised into seven groups for the round robin stage with one group of 5 and six of 4 with the seven group winners and best runners up progressing to the knockout round.

The group winners were
Group One - Diane and Martin Williams (Penlee) 4 +30
Group Two - Edward Wakeley (Ladock) and Tony Jago (Treviscoe) 4 +18
Group Three - Derek Elliott and Mark Eddy (Holmans) 4 +9
Group Four - Betty Temple-Smith (Luxulyan) and Henry Kendall (Withiel) 6 +26
Group Five - Graham Luke and Brian Wakeley (Ladock) 5 +25
Group Six - Margaret Jenkin and Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) 6 +20
Group Seven - Neil Gribble (Landrake) and Gillian Cawrse (Lostwithiel) 4 +37
Runners Up - Margaret & John Menhenick (Wadebridge) 5 +6

The knockout round saw Derek Elliott and Mark Eddy defeat Margaret and John Menhenick 17-2.  Graham Luke & Brian Wakeley won 12-1 against Betty Temple Smith and Henry Kendall.  Margaret Jenkin and Nigel Nicholls were 13-8 winners against Neil Gribble and Gillian Cawrse.  Edward Wakeley and Tony Jago were the final qualifiers with a 9-7 win against Diane and Martin Williams.

There will be a break from local competition action this weekend with two local teams travelling to Taunton to take part in the local qualification competition for the Torquay Leisure Hotels Top Club competition.


Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association
Tel: 07800 916059
Blackberry Messenger: 7C59B3EF

No comments: