Sunday, 24 October 2010

CCSMBA NEWS RELEASE - 24 October 2010


NEWS RELEASE - 24 October 2010




The qualification competition for the County Pairs was played over the weekend at the Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin with 47 pairings taking part chasing the 8 places available in the County Finals in January.


Saturday saw 25 pairings split into 6 groups for a round robin competition followed by a single knock out round to determine 4 qualifiers from the day.


Group One was a closely contested affair with all four pairs playing in the final round of games being in with a chance of taking the group win.  Margaret Jenkin & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) defeated Henry Kendall & Joe Dixon (Withiel) 17-2 to secure the group win with 4 points +19 shots to finish ahead of Joan & Peter Skinner (Saltash) who defeated Susan Wilce & Barbara Swaby (Wadebridge) 15-7 to finish on 4 +10 narrowly missing out on a best runners up place.  Kevin Williams & Mike Widger (Porthleven) were undefeated in claiming Group Two with 6 +38, the best qualifying score of the two days.  Derek Swaby (Wadebridge) & Stuart Hambly (Camelford) were also undefeated in claiming Group Three with 6 +16.


Group Four went down to the final game with Roy Christophers (Helston) & Keith Williams (Penlee) claiming 10-8 win against Graham Luke & Brian Wakeley (Ladock) to finish with 6 +16.  Luke and Wakeley qualified as highest runners up with 4 +17.  Group Five also went down to the final game with Linda Martin & Gerry Fisher (Illogan) taking an 11-5 win against Elise Daniell & Nicholas Truscott (Holmans) to finish on 5 +11.  Daniell & Truscott’s 4 +14 was enough to see them through as the second runner up.  Group Six proved the closed of the day with Joe Coups & David Studden (Illogan) finishing in top spot with a 9-8 win against Max Burden & Brenda Sleep (Dobwalls) in the final game to finish on 4 -2


A further round of knockout games was played to determine the four qualifiers.   Stuart Hambly & Derek Swaby needed an extra end to defeat Roy Christophers & Keith Williams 9-8.  An extra end was also needed by Margaret Jenkin & Nigel Nicholls in defeating Graham Luke & Brian Wakeley 10-8.  Kevin Williams & Mike Widger were comfortable 12-4 winners against Elise Daniell & Nicholas Truscott and Joe Coups & David Studden won the all Illogan game defeating Linda Martin & Gerry Fisher 13-2.


Sunday saw 22 pairings split into 5 groups, again with 4 qualifiers needed to go forward to the finals.


Bill Sharp & Graham Sleep (Dobwalls) claimed Group One with 4 +15, Mollie Jones & John Sloane (Liskeard) also qualified as the best of the runners up with 4 +11.  Sheila Hodge & Derek Newton (Liskeard) defeated Margaret Delbridge & Christine Kent (Cubert) 14-4 in the final Group Two game to finish on 6 +27, the Cubert pairing just missing out on the final best runners up place.  Yvonne & David Griffin (Lostwithiel) were unbeaten in claiming Group Three with 6 +18, including a 12-11 win against defending champions Tony Baldwin & Peter Spargo (Liskeard). 


Thomas Rigler & Alan Trubshaw (Duloe) claimed Group Four with 5 +4.  Joyce & Norman Ward (Withiel) claimed a runners up spot after finishing on 4 +1 which included a  12-10 win against England squad members Karen Watson & Peter Hore (Holmans).  Brian Webb & Tony Jago (Treviscoe) topped Group Five with 4 +13 with Caroline Trubshaw & Brian Lewis (Duloe) claiming a runners up spot with 4 +3.


The knockout round saw Joyce & Norman Ward defeat Caroline Trubshaw & Brian Lewis 10-9.  Sheila Hodge & Derek Newton were comfortable 18-7 winners against Bill Sharp & Graham Sleep.  Yvonne & David Griffin claimed an 8-6 win over Tom Rigler & Alan Trubshaw, the final spot in the finals line up went to John Sloane & Mollie Jones who defeated Brian Webb & Tony Jago 10-5.




On Sunday (31 October) Cornwall host Devon in the first home Inter County match of the season at the Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin with the action getting under way at around 1100.


The teams selected for the match are



N Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity), D Studden (Illogan), G Cawrse (Lostwithiel), G Reeves (Saltash), K Williams (Porthleven), Mike Widger (Porthleven), P Williams (St Newlyn East), C Ford (St Newlyn East), G Ford (St Newlyn East), J Coups (Illogan), K Horrell (Withiel), B Wakeley (Ladock), E Daniell (Holmans), N Truscott (Holmans), K Watson (Holmans), P Hore (Holmans), R Christophers (Helston), G Luke (Ladock), R Thomas (Newlyn Trinity), & C Roberts (Ladock)



P Spargo (Liskeard), T Baldwin (Liskeard), B Sharp (Dobwalls), Terry Bray (Lostwithiel), C Stanley (St Newlyn East), J Ward (Withiel), L Jolly (Treviscoe), M Burden (Dobwalls), B Sleep (Dobwalls), B Williams (Illogan), Linda Martin (Illogan), Gerald Fisher (Illogan), K Goodman (Treviscoe), P Sully (Perranporth), D Griffin (Lostwithiel), A Hambley (Lostwithiel), M Horrell (Withiel), M Goodwin (Saltash), D Swaby (Wadebridge), D Newton (Liskeard)




The Area League program is well under way and latest league tables can be found on the following links.


West Premier Division

West Division One

West Division Two


Central Premier Division

Central Division One


North Division One

North Division Two


Eastern Area available from next week.




Nicholas Truscott

Press and Promotions Officer


No comments: