Sunday, 19 September 2021


News Release 19 September 2021

Cornwall have been represented in all four disciplines at this weekend's rearranged 2020 English Short Mat Bowling Association National Championships at Melton Mowbray Indoor Bowling Club in Leicestershire.  The ESMBA implemented a number of additional measures to protect members for the ongoing Covid risks and these were commented upon favourably by the players attending.  Each event did however see a number of withdrawals from the original 64 qualifiers on each day.

On Thursday Peter Hore (Holmans) and Callum Beale (Duloe) competed in the Singles.  Peter was drawn in Group 5 and with a 12-6 win against Ben Haulkham (West Sussex) and a 2-20 loss to Ross Dunkley (West Midlands) progressed to the knockout stages where he was defeated 3-12 by Steve Jeffery (West Sussex).  Callum was drawn in Group 7 and with results of 8-14 against Emily Thomas (Dorset), 13-3 against Chris Mann (Norfolk) and 11-11 against Simon Smith (Humberside) also progressed to the knockout stages where he was defeated 9-11 by George Main Devon. 

On Friday Beale was joined by Luke Jolly (Holmans) in the Pairs.  Drawn in Group 8 they recorded wins against Eric Pavey & Barry McPhillips (Devon) 12-6 and John Loran & Nigel Froud (East Sussex) 11-5 but lost 6-10 to eventual winners Ollie Hipkiss & Ryan Knight (Gloucestershire) to secure a place in the knockout stages.  In the second round they lost 8-15 to Nathan Caines & Grant Soller (West Midlands).

Saturday saw Dennis Shorthouse (Landrake), John Worton (St Newlyn East), Richard Kerr (Landrake) & Chris Roberts (Ladock) and Beale & Jolly joined by Nathan Waters (Holmans) & Marton Boraston (Duloe) in a second team in the Fours.  The Shorthouse, Worton, Kerr & Roberts combination did not progress to the knockouts from Group 5 following a 7-7 draw against Steve Collins, Sean Woodley, Trevor Tregillus & Ava Cattell (Devon), a 5-4 win against Jeff Branch, Jeanette Gaylor, Tony Gaylor & Jan Rogers (Hertfordshire) and a 3-6 loss to Marek Wazydrag, David Browning, Steve Tuttle & Mark Jones (Surrey).  

The Beale, Jolly, Waters and Boraston combination progressed through to the knockout round from Group 2 with wins of 15-3 against Dennis Mack, Bev Stephenson, Alan Hare, Margaret Hare (Herefordshire) and 11-8 against Tim Cross, Ruth Cross, Peter Collett & Simon Faulkner (Oxfordshire).  They then progressed directly through to the third round thanks to a bye as a result of there only being 22 qualifiers through from the group stages.  The third round saw defeat to Lee Tolman, Bronagh Toleman, Lawrence Moffat & Danny Langdon (North Yorkshire) 5-11.

On Sunday Elise Daniell (Holmans) joined Worton & Hore in the Triples.  Draws against the previous days Fours winners Adam Smith, Matty Worden & Daniel Sands (Cheshire) 7-7 and Elliott James, George & Tony Main (Devon) 12-12 and a 6-9 loss to Peter Debenham, Stuart Bell & Melvin Simpson (Essex) were not enough to progress to the knockout stages.


The winter league program is currently being put together that will feature 42 teams across the four areas compared to 69 in the 2019/20 season.  The West area sees 18 teams down from 27, the Central area goes from 15 to 7 teams, the East area drops from 19 to 12 and the North area from 8 to 5.  Fixtures are due to start during the week commencing 11th October.


Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer

No comments: