Sunday, 17 November 2019


News Release 17 November 2019

Cornwall have taken the decision to withdraw the Premier Team entered in the Inter County Rinks competition over the weekend of 7th & 8th December following the announcement from the ESMBA that the qualifying competition would be held in Solihull with all entered counties playing at the same venue instead of the expected local qualifiers.  On Sunday Devon also announced through their website ( they would be withdrawing from the competition citing the same reason.

Over the weekend 36 pairings competed at Carnmoggas Indoor Bowling Club for the eight places available in the County Pairs finals, 19 on Saturday and 17 on Sunday.  Both days were organised as round robin competitions with four groups on each day with the group winners qualifying.

On Saturday Group One was topped by Diane Crocker & Shane Aldridge (Luxulyan) with a score of 6 points +8 shots with Gary & Lynne Davey (Landrake) second on 4 +26.  Group Two winners were Derek Foulds & David Balow (Marazion) with 6 +11 ahead of Nicola Ellis & Louise Williams (Helston) on 4 +12.  Sandra & John Worton (St Newlyn East) topped Group Three with 5 +17 ahead of Chris Roberts & Tony Jago (Ladock) on 3 -1.  The final qualifiers on Saturday were John Garrison (Penlee) & Kevin Williams (Newlyn Trinity) from Group Four with 6 +23 finishing ahead of Bob Smith (Porthleven) & Percy Tripp (Newlyn Trinity) on 4 +12.

On Sunday Group One was topped by Elise Daniell & Peter Hore (Holmans) with 6 +22 ahead of Nathan Waters (Withiel) & Luke Jolly (Holmans) on 4 +27.  Group Two winners were Ray Jeffery & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) with 6 +24 ahead of Robert Rawlings & Brenda Sleep (Dobwalls) on 4 +4.  Karen Watson (Saltash) & Callum Beale (Withiel) topped Group Three with 6 +23 ahead of Keith Matthews & Max Burden (Blisland) on 4 +19.  The final qualifiers from the weekend were Janet Carter & David Topliffe (Boscastle) with 6 +24 ahead of Joyce Harding (Luxulyan) & Graham Ford (Ladock) 4 +2.

The eight successful teams will return to Carnmoggas on Sunday 19th January to contest the finals.

On Sunday 10 November 20 teams competed in the County Fours at Carnmoggas with 8 teams going forward to the County Finals later in the season.  The competition was played on a round robin basis with five group winners and three best runners up qualifying for the finals.

Group One winners were Leonard Lee, Roy Saxby, Caroline & Alan Trubshaw (Duloe) with 4 points +16 shots ahead of Dianne & Dennis Shorthouse and Heidi & Richard Kerr (Landrake) on 4 +3.  Group Two winners were Simon Lees, Morgan Lees, Ray Jeffery & Nigel Nicholls (Newyn Trinity) on 5 +8 ahead of John Garrison (Penlee), Malcolm Daniels (Hayle), Annette Topham (Penlee) & Mark Payne (Penzance) on 4 +12 who claimed a runners up spot.  Janet Carter, Jane Spatchett, Bob Banks & David Topliffe (Boscastle) topped a tight group Three on 4 +16 ahead of Peter Ramsden, Christine Kitley, Sandra & John Worton (St Newlyn East) on 4 +13 who also qualified.  Elise Daniell, Nicholas Truscott, Peter Hore & David Studden (Holmans) topped Group Four with 5 +28 ahead of Phil Stevens (St Ives), Bob Smith (Porthleven), Percy Tripp (Newlyn Trinity) & Frank Plummer (St Ives) on 4 -1.  The final Group was topped by Nathan Waters, Glynn Roy (Withiel), Luke Jolly (Holmans) & Callum Beale (Withiel) with 6 +19 ahead of Stephen Goddard (Penlee), Ronnie Thomas, John Thomas, Kevin Williams (Newlyn Trinity) on 4 +12 who took the final runners up spot.

The eight successful teams will return to Carnmoggas on Saturday 18th January to contest the finals.

On Saturday 9th November the remainder of the first of The National Championship Qualifiers were contested at Carnmoggas.

In the Singles four group winners progressed to the Semi Finals where Callum Beale (Withiel) defeated Luke Jolly (Holmans) 12-2 and Peter Hore (Holmans) won 10-8 against Dennis Shorthouse (Landrake).  In the final Hore defeated Beale 14-4.

The Fours was played on a round robin basis.  The winners were John Worton (St Newlyn East), Nicola Ellis (Helston), Louise Williams (Helston) & Chris Roberts (Ladock) with 4 points -7 shots.  Second were Nathan Waters (Withiel), Martin Boraston (Duloe), Callum Beale (Withiel) & Luke July (Holmans) on 3 +12.  Third were Elise Daniell (Holmans), Sandra Worton (St Newlyn East), Gill Smith (Newlyn Trinity) & Peter Hore (Holmans) on 3 -4.  Fourth were Kevin Williams, John Thomas, Mike Dyer & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) on 2 -1.

Worton, Ellis, Williams and Roberts also qualified for the Mixed Fours defeating Daniell, Smith, Nicholls and Hore 11-3 in the elimination match.

Cornwall will again not be represented in the National Under 18's as no entries were received.

The top placed team in each discipline is guaranteed a place at the National Championships with others dependant on the allocation of places that will be published later in the season.

On Sunday Cornwall travel to the Dorset Bowls Resort for the latest round of ESMBA Inter County Championship matches.  Cornwall's Premier Team need a strong result to maintain hopes of qualification for the knockout stages of the competition.  The A Team are still without a match win this season and lie at the bottom of the South West group 17 points behind third placed Somerset.  The match gets underway at 1030 with regular update throughout the day on the CCSMBA social media channels.

The county league program is well underway and the CCSMBA are offering a full fixtures and results service for the media.

Fixtures can be accessed here

Results can be accessed here

League Tables can be accessed here


Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer

Tel 07800 916059

No comments: