Sunday, 12 April 2015


NEWS RELEASE 12 April 2015


National Fours Winners Tom Westlake, Luke Jolly, Karen Watson & Ed Dyer
After falling short in a final at each of the past two championships a team from Cornwall claimed a National Championship title on Saturday when Karen Watson, Ed Dyer, Luke Jolly & Tom Westlake put together an unbeaten run of eight games to claim the title.

During the group stages they first faced the Oxfordshire team of M Davies, J Bradbury, L Woodward & D Wiggins winning 8-4.  Next up they met the Essex team of R Wade, G Wade, J Wade & R Cordy winning 11-5.  The final group game against the Buckinghamshire team of D Owen, J Owen, V Latham & B Latham winning 7-4 to guarantee top spot in the group.

Moving into the knock out stages they first faced the Humberside team of M Bristow, C Brown, B Manning & J Sampson winning 7-4.  Next up in the last 16, 2013 winners G Cross, T Cross, G Davies & AJ Brown of Oxfordshire provided the opposition with Cornwall winning 8-7.  In the Quarter Finals the Staffordshire team of T Colclough, J Towey, A Wiiliams & A Jones were defeated 10-2.  Staffordshire again provided the opposition in the semi finals where C Kearns, M Simcock, N Tideswell & G Berrisford were defeated 8-4.

The final was against the West Midlands team of Phil Warr, Jon Pitcher, Malcolm Follis & Luke Lane.  Cornwall took the first end with a score of one with West Mids ditching the jack on the second end to pick up two.  Cornwall levelled the score on the third end.  West Midlands moved ahead over the next two ends to lead 5-2 after five ends.  Cornwall picked up successive scores of four on the 6th and 7th ends to move into a 10-5 lead going into the last end which was defended with West Mids picking up a score of two to leave the final score Cornwall 10 West Mids 7.  

The four Cornwall players, with an average age of just under 23, are now automatically invited to join the England Squad next season.

Photo courtesy of Trevor Robinson. 
Cornwall's second team in the Fours Elise Daniell, Nicholas Truscott, Nigel Nicholls and Peter Hore could only record one win in the group stages and finished third in group missing out on the knock out stages,

Earlier in the championships on Thursday Nigel Nicholls and Dennis Shorthouse competed in the Singles.  Nigel finished second in his group to progress to the knock out stages where he beat Hampshire's James Bucknall 12-6 in the last 32 before losing to Worcester's Ian Davis 14-8 in the last 16.  Dennis failed to win a game in his group and did not progress to the knock out stages.

On Friday Cornwall had three Pairs competing.  Gillian Cawrse & Nigel Nicholls had the best run storming through the group stages with three wins scoring 60 shots and conceding just 4.  In the last 32 they defeated Somerset's Carol & Keith Hawkins 12-10.  In the last 16 they narrowly lost 7-8 to Gloucestershire's Gill Johnson & Stuart Minchew.  Cornwall's other qualifiers Elise Daniell & Nicholas and Tom Westlake & Ed Dyer both failed to progress from the group stages.

On Sunday Nicholas Truscott, Nigel Nicholls & Peter Hore came through the group stages as group runners up to set up a last 32 match against Northamptonshire's Dale Thomson, Callum Beale & Leigh Hall.  The Cornwall trio were in trouble early on falling behind to a 0-6 scoreline before starting to turn things around but they fell short losing 6-7 and bringing Cornwall's National Championship campaign to a close for another year.

Next weekend two teams travel to Torquay for the TLH Top Team Championship, won last year by Cornwall's Holmans.


Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association
Tel:    07800 916059

No comments: