Sunday, 13 October 2013

CCSMBA NEWS RELEASE - 13 October 2013

NEWS RELEASE 13 October 2013


On Sunday 104 bowlers competed in the first county championship qualification competition of the new season, the County Fours, at Carnmoggas Indoor Bowling Club.

The 26 teams were split into six groups, one of six and five of four with the six group winners and top two runners going forward to the county finals at the end of the season.

In Group One a 10-10 draw in the final game of the day against Betty Temple-Smith (Luxulyan), David Abbis, Terry Bray & Gillian Cawrse (Lostwithiel) saw Joan Boddy, Meg Horrell, Joe Dixon & Ken Horrell win the group with 5 points +9 shots.  Group Two saw a scores of over 20 recorded in three of the six games and three of the four teams finishing on 4 points. The group win went to Kath Goodman, Tony Jago, Luke Jolly and Karen Watson (Treviscoe) with +41 shots.  Second in group went to Elise Daniell, Derek Elliott (Holmans), Nicholas Truscott (Luxulyan) and Peter Hore (Holmans) with +16 shots enough to take the first runners up spot.

Group Three finished with two teams tied for top spot on 4 points +14 shots.  The top spot going to Robert Rawlings, Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep (Dobwalls) & Max Burden (Blisland) whose 15-1 win against Robert James, Margaret Jenkin, Raymond Jeffery & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) proved to be the deciding score.  The Newlyn team also go forward to the finals claiming the second runners up spot.

Group Four winners were Dennis Shorthouse, Heidi Kerr, Richard Kerr & Neil Gribble (Landrake) with 5 points +9 shots.  Group Five saw a tense finish with Graham Sleep, David Griffin, Martin Boraston & Derek Newton (Dobwalls) losing 3-11 to Gerald Fisher, Linda Martin, Joe Coups & David Studden (Illogan) but winning the group with 4 points +12 shots, one shots ahead of the Illogan team.

The only team to record three wins on the day were Clarence Stapleton, Jim Watson (St Stephen), Carol Ford & Graham Ford (St Newlyn East) finishing with 6 pts +35 shots.

The qualifiers will play for the County Championship title on Saturday 15 March 2014 at Carnmoggas.


On Sunday Cornwall travel to Dorset in the ESMBA Inter County Championship.  With a full squad available to choose from Team Manager Nigel Nicholls makes several changes in a bid to find the teams first wins of the season.

The teams selected are

Premier - D Studden (Illogan), N Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity), Dennis Shorthouse (Landrake), Nicholas Truscott (Luxulyan), Elise Daniell (Holmans), Mark Eddy (Holmans), Graham Ford (St Newlyn East), Gillian Cawrse (Lostwithiel), Percy Tripp (Helston), Richard Brown (Ladock), Martin Boraston (Dobwalls), Brian Wakeley (Ladock), John Worton (Ladock), Graham Reeves (Saltash), Ken Horrell (Withiel), Chris Roberts (Ladock), Derek Elliott (Holmans), Neil Gribble (Landrake), Luke Jolly (Treviscoe) & Peter Hore (Holmans)

A - Keith Matthews (Blisland), David Griffin (Dobwalls), Bill Sharp (Dobwalls), Brenda Sleep (Dobwalls), Betty Temple-Smith (Luxulyan), Keith Williams (Penlee), Melba Kitt (Saltash), Sandra Worton (Ladock), Henry Kendall (Withiel), Tony Jago (Treviscoe), Alan Holden (Landrake), Gary Davey (Landrake), Meg Horrell (Withiel), Jim Stanley (Treviscoe), Carolyn Stanley (Treviscoe), Derek Newton (Dobwalls), Sheila Hodge (Liskeard), Jim Rule (Lostwithiel), Max Burden (Blisland), Terry Bray (Lostwithiel)

Reserves - Joe Dixon (Withiel), Kath Goodman (Treviscoe), Carol Ford (St Newlyn East)


Nicholas Truscott 
Press and Promotions Officer 
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association
Tel:    07800 916059

No comments: