Sunday, 23 January 2011

CCSMBA NEWS RELEASE - 23 January 2010


NEWS RELEASE – 23 January 2011


Over the weekend the Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin was the venue for the 2010/2011 CCSMBA County Championship finals.

The first title to be decided was the County Four Wood Singles on Saturday morning. The eight qualifiers were drawn in a straight knockout competition to determine the title. In the quarter finals John Keers (St Agnes) defeated Brenda Sleep (Dobwalls) 12-9. David Studden (Illogan) was a 9-8 winner against Jim Ashton (Saltash). Peter Hore (Holmans) claimed an 11-5 win against Ken Horrell (Withiel). Keith Matthews (Blisland) received a bye after his opponent was unable to take his place due to illness.

The Semi Finals saw David defeat John 14-6 and Peter defeat Keith 12-4. The early exchanges in the 11 end final were closely contested with Peter leading 3-2 after five ends. The next two ends proved crucial to the outcome with Peter picking up a 2 and a 3 to lead 8-2 after seven ends and go on to win 10-5.

The County Fours took centre stage on Saturday afternoon, again with eight qualifiers drawn into a straight knockout. The first quarter final saw the two Lostwithiel teams drawn together with the combination of David Abbis, Robert Peareth, Camilla Cawrse & Terry Bray defeating Pam Hamley, Chris Cawrse, Gillian Cawrse & Peter Hamley 14-3. The second game was a closely contested affair which saw the Holmans team of Elise Daniell, Karen Watson, Nicholas Truscott & Peter Hore up against Ronald Thomas (Porthleven), Margaret Jenkin (Newlyn Trinity), John Thomas (Penzance) & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity). With never more than a couple of shots splitting the two teams it was Holman's skip Peter Hore who drew to the ditch line with the final bowl of the game to win 8-7. The Dobwalls team of Graham Sleep, Bill Sharp, Brenda Sleep & Max Burden were 14-9 winners against St Newlyn East’s Sheila Collins, Pam Williams, Carol Ford & Graham Ford. Completing the Quarter Finals Liskeard’s Dorothy Woodyatt, Sheila Hodge, Tony Baldwin & Derek Newton claimed victory 11-5 against Saltash’s Melba Kitt, Margaret Goodwin, Graham Reeves & Darren Woolner.

The semi finals saw Peter Hore’s Holmans team defeat Terry Bray’s Lostwithiel team 14-5 and Derek Newton’s Liskeard 10-5 winners against Max Burden’s Dobwalls team. The final was closely contested with neither team able to establish a clear lead with never more than 3 shots separating the two teams and at the end of the scheduled nine ends the scores were level at 8-8 to leave an extra end required which went the way of the Liskeard team.

First up on Sunday was the County Two Wood Pairs. In the quarter finals Derek Swaby (Wadebridge) & Stuart Hambly (Camelford) were 10-8 winners against Sheila Hodge & Derek Newton (Liskeard). Mike Widger & Kevin Williams (Porthleven) claimed an 11-5 victory over Joe Coups & David Studden (Illogan). Yvonne & David Griffin (Lostwithiel) were 14-4 winners against Joyce & Norman Ward (Withiel) and completing the round were Margaret Jenkin & Nigel Nicholls who claimed victory 15-8 against Mollie Jones & John Sloane (Liskeard).

In the first semi final Derek & Stuart scored 3 on the last end to secure victory 11-10 against Mike & Kevin and in the second semi Margaret & Nigel were 12-5 winners against Yvonne & David. The final proved to be a very close affair with two tied ends and seven ends decided by a single shot. Margaret and Nigel lead 6-1 at the halfway point only to see the lead eroded as Derek & Stuart fought back to force an extra end with a score of two on the final scheduled end of the game. Nigel and Margaret scored the vital shot on the extra end to secure the title.

Sunday afternoon saw the County Triples contested. Penlee’s Mike Richards, Top Lapworth & Keith Williams score 2 on the final end of their quarter final to defeat Wadebridge’s Margaret Menhenick, John Menhenick & Derek Swaby 8-7. Luxulyan’s David Giles, Betty Temple-Smith & Phil Hicks were 11-5 winners against Kath Goodman (Treviscoe), Carol & Graham Ford (St Newlyn East). Saltash’s Melba Kitt, Graham Reeves & Darren Woolner were 15-7 winners against Lostwithiel’s Dave Abbis, Robert Peareth & Terry Bray and in the final quarter final Margaret Jenkin (Newlyn Trinity), John Thomas (Penzance) & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity) claimed a 10-4 win against Illogan’s Bob Williams, Joe Coups & David Studden.

The first semi-final saw Phil Hicks’ team fight back from 2-6 down to force an extra end against Keith Williams’ team who eventually claimed the the extra end with a single shot to take a place in the final. The second semi final between Darren Woolner’s Saltash and Nigel Nicholls’ Newlyn Trinity was a high scoring affair with neither team able to establish a clear lead and ultimately went to an extra end which was claimed by Darren with a single shot to give a final score of 14-13. In the final Darren established an 8-1 lead only to see Keith hit back to level the score at 8-8 going into a tense last end that would ultimately be decided by the umpires measure. By the matter of millimetres it was Darren who was awarded the winning shot.

County Champions Summery

County Singles – Peter Hore (Holmans)

County Pairs – Margaret Jenkin & Nigel Nicholls (Newlyn Trinity)

County Triples – Melba Kitt, Graham Reeves & Darren Woolner (Saltash)

County Fours – Dorothy Woodyatt, Sheila Hodge, Tony Baldwin & Derek Newton (Liskeard)

The next local action will be on Sunday (30 January) with the concluding round of Inter Area League matches. First play second with West up against Central and third placed East take on bottom placed North.


At the time of writing Cornwall’s team management were still awaiting confirmation of the date and venue for the Premier Team’s ESMBA Inter County Consolation Preliminary round match against Avon due to be played on the weekend of 5th or 6th February. The A team’s next match is scheduled for Saturday 19 February when Essex or Hertfordshire will be the opponents in the Quarter Finals of competition.


League tables can be found on the following links, the * mark shown in the tables does not need to reproduced.

West Premier Division

West Division One

West Division Two

Central Premier Division

Central Division One

North Division One

North Division Two

East Premier Division

East Division One

Nicholas Truscott
Press and Promotions Officer
Cornwall County Short Mat Bowling Association

Tel: 07800 916059



No comments: